Friday, May 20, 2016

Election Results

Baltimore held it’s primary election on April 26. For most city offices, the Democratic nominee generally wins.

The city office results are reported below as certified by the city board of elections. However, the state Board of Elections decertified the results and is conducting a precinct-by-precinct review. The overall results will likely stay the same in most races, but the very tight race for the 12th city council district could be up in the air.

State Senator Catherine Pugh won the mayoral race by a 3% margin over former mayor Shelia Dixon.

Robert Stokes Jr. (shown) won the open 12th District seat on the Baltimore City Council with just 325 votes separating him from second-place finisher Kelly Cross of nearby Old Goucher. Stokes is currently a staffer for outgoing Councilman Carl Stokes (no relation), who gave up his seat to run for mayor.

Mary Pat Clarke won reelection to her seat easily, taking home almost 90% of the vote in the 14th district.

In the US Senate race, Montgomery County congressman Chris Van Hollen won the Democratic primary in a heated race against Prince George’s County congresswoman Donna Edwards. Van Hollen is favored in the general election, where he will face Republican Kathy Szeliga, who currently represents parts of Baltimore and Harford Counties in Maryland House of Delegates (the lower house of the state legislature).

Baltimore City supported Hillary Clinton over Bernie Sanders for the Democratic nomination for President by more than a 2:1 margin and Donald Trump for the Republican nod with a 10% lead on his nearest rival.

On the very-local level, GRIA also held elections in April. The organization elected its board as a slate because there were no contested races.

Ryan Flanigan will serve a second term as president, Molly McCullagh stepped up to vice president, Nellie Power will take over as treasurer, and Julie Dael will continue as secretary. Andrew Black, Craig Bettenhausen, MaryAnne Kondratenko, Bill Cunningham, Jed Weeks, and Blaine Carvalho are joined on the board by new members Raymond DeBarge Jr. and Joshua Greenfeld. DeBarge inaugurates a new position on the board: youth representative.